Our experts

Benjamin Bross

© Fraunhofer HHI

Benjamin Bross received the Dipl.-Ing. degree in electrical engineering from RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany, in 2008. In 2009, he joined the Fraunhofer Institute for Telecommunications – Heinrich Hertz Institute, Berlin, Germany, where he is currently heading the Video Coding Systems group at the Video Coding & Analytics Department and in 2011, he became a part-time lecturer at the HTW University of Applied Sciences Berlin.

Since 2010, Benjamin is very actively involved in the ITU-T VCEG | ISO/IEC MPEG video coding standardization processes as a technical contributor, coordinator of core experiments and chief editor of the High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC) standard [ITU-T H.265 | ISO/IEC 23008-2] and the emerging Versatile Video Coding (VVC) standard. In addition to his involvement in standardization, Benjamin is coordinating standard-compliant software implementation activities. This includes the development of an HEVC encoder that is currently deployed in broadcast for HD and UHD TV channels.

Benjamin Bross is an author or co-author of several fundamental HEVC and VVC-related publications, and an author of two book chapters on HEVC and Inter-Picture Prediction Techniques in HEVC. He received the IEEE Best Paper Award at the 2013 IEEE International Conference on Consumer Electronics – Berlin in 2013, the SMPTE Journal Certificate of Merit in 2014 and an Emmy Award at the 69th Engineering Emmy Awards in 2017 as part of the Joint Collaborative Team on Video Coding for its development of HEVC.

E-Mail to Benjamin Bross

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Foessel

© Fraunhofer IIS / Karoline Glasow

Siegfried Foessel is head of the department Moving Picture Technologies at Fraunhofer IIS, Germany, and head of the technology study program at the HFF film school in Munich. His previous research projects include: development of digital cinema cameras like ARRI D20/D21, certification test plan for DCI (Digital Cinema Initiatives), standardisation of digital cinema profiles for JPEG2000 and development of post-production tools for digital cinema (easyDCP) and immersive audio (MPEG-H). He is member of the International Standardization Committee ISO/IEC JTC1 SC29 WG1, better known as the Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG)His current projects are JPEG Pleno and JPEG XS. Siegfried is SMPTE fellow and IEEE senior member with more than 70 publications. For FKTG (Fernseh-und Kinotechnische Gesellschaft), the German equivalent to SMPTE, he serves currently as president.

E-Mail to Siegfried Foessel

Dr. Heiko Sparenberg

© Fraunhofer IIS

Dr. Heiko Sparenberg is Head of the Group Digital Cinema and Post Production Technologies at Fraunhofer IIS. The easyDCP software suite for the generation and validation of Digital Cinema Packages is a product that is used worldwide by post-production houses and studios. He is one of the Fraunhofer IIS experts on IMF. For the development of easyDCP and for his work in the area digital cinema he was awarded the Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Prize in 2014. His team is also working on MPEG-H production tools.

E-Mail to Heiko Sparenberg

Get in touch with us!

For contact, more information and participation in our new digital formats, don't hesitate to contact us!


Back to the overview